Sophie Durbin: The Cravings Have Gotten More Grotesque

Note from MMCCLL: We saw this post from Sophie on FB and thought it would be the perfect time to ask her to collab with us:

Screen Shot 2015-04-09 at 12.20.08 AM

Sophie later told me (Cori), “I’ve recently found that if I need things, I just need to ask” [a huge paraphrase on my part].

But anyway, from Sophie: 

A recent project of mine was a performance piece where I read aloud a poem called “The Cravings Have Gotten More Grotesque,” which deals with the concept of the intensity of food cravings and what they might signify about whatever else goes on in our psyches; while reading the poem I ate a chipotle burrito covered in frosting.

I’d like to continue the food theme for what I prompt y’all with, as I find food to be an excellent jumping-off point for making discoveries about subtext and cultural constructions in everyday life.

Your prompt: curate a meal. Or, in other terms, create a meal-sized installation where all the components are food. Use food as your medium to explore any other idea you have been dealing with in your art as of late and document it however you see fit!

-Sophie

OUR RESPONSES:

Leave a Reply

