JP Merz: Test the Waters

So I’m not exactly sure how this works but it seems like there is some sort of theme to the response process and a loose prompt usually. So here’s mine.

 

I work a lot with electronic music, but my tendencies lean towards the experimental/contemporary classical tradition. Maybe it’s just because I’ve been working within academia, but I haven’t really explored much of the very expansive realm of “beat-making”, a genre so popular that (for some) it’s almost synonymous with term electronic music. I really respect and admire “beat-making”, but just haven’t really had the right impetus or environment to try it out. So one day I sat down and said, fuck it, I’m going to make a beat. So my prompt to you all is to make something in a medium you haven’t explored but really admire.

This beat is a remix of a piece I did for a collaboration with a dancer. The dance work was all about the human body, a variety of characters each representing an organ. This particular piece was for the lungs and I collaborated with Margaret McNeal, recording a lot breathy, Meredith Monk-esque melodies. Here is the remixed beat version.

Here is the original piece for the dance work in case you are interested.

Looking forward!

J.P.

OUR RESPONSES:

Leave a Reply

